Read Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator by Adam Lewis Albert Hadley Online

billy-baldwin-the-great-american-decorator

The definitive book on the legendary decorator Billy Baldwin, known as the "Dean of American Decorating," famous for his classical taste, streamlined modernism, and brilliant use of color. In the tradition of Rizzoli’s Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is the first fully illustrated account of the career of Billy Baldwin (1903–1983), one of the most important decoratorsThe definitive book on the legendary decorator Billy Baldwin, known as the "Dean of American Decorating," famous for his classical taste, streamlined modernism, and brilliant use of color. In the tradition of Rizzoli’s Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is the first fully illustrated account of the career of Billy Baldwin (1903–1983), one of the most important decorators of the twentieth century, whose work has influenced contemporary designers from Bunny Williams to Jeffrey Bilhuber. A native of Baltimore, Baldwin’s work caught the eye of eminent New York decorator Ruby Ross Wood. She invited him to join her firm, saying his work stood out "like a beacon of light in the boredom of the houses around it." Baldwin’s style was a revelation—simultaneously classical and modernist, tailored and clean, yet dramatically colored, and above all American. An enemy of clutter and conspicuous wealth, he favored natural materials and comfortable furniture. The drama in his rooms often came from color, as seen in the dark brown lacquered walls of Cole Porter’s library or the scarlet cotton print that covered Diana Vreeland’s apartment. Immensely charming, Baldwin was a popular addition to the high society of New York. His clients included Bill and Deeda Blair, Babe and Bill Paley, and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. With a foreword by Baldwin’s former student Albert Hadley, and enriched by never-before-published transcripts of four 1974 lectures that Baldwin gave at the Cooper-Hewitt, this is an important book for anyone interested in interior design....

Title : Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780847833672
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Billy Baldwin: The Great American Decorator Reviews

  • Analía Lazzari
    2019-03-19 06:47

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish because I find the designs and so many of the concepts as relevant today as they were over sixty years ago. Fascinating to step into the life story of a designer that I admire for his original, elegant and contemporary ideas. I find myself returning to this book as a reference whenever I start a work project. Every time I open it, I get something new from it, it is almost as if I were reading it for the first time. Much is said about the quality of the pictures and illustrations therein, but let us not forget that some of the designs showcased here were photographed or even sketched decades ago.

  • Sara
    2019-03-02 02:34

    I was quite disappointed in the quality of this book. Many of the photos were poorly reproduced, some quite blurry, some with muddy colors. I thought too many of the photos were in black and white, considering the price of the book. The captions were repetitive , sometimes as many as three to a page which said the exact same thing. The editing was terrible in two ways. First, the were spelling errors, grammar errors, and omitted words that sometimes made it difficult to understand the text. Also, the text was rarely aligned with the photos. As I read about Diana Vreelands NYC apartment, the photos accompanying the text were of some Ambassadors Long Island summer home. Very frustrating to have to flip back and forth. Not the quality I have come to expect from a Rizzoli book.