Read Scorched Earth (DS Aector McAvoy #7) by David Mark Online

scorched-earth-ds-aector-mcavoy-7

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing.The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure.McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that allDetective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing.The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure.McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl.But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past....

Title : Scorched Earth (DS Aector McAvoy #7)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781473643093
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Scorched Earth (DS Aector McAvoy #7) Reviews

  • Elaine Tomasso
    2019-01-17 18:36

    I would like to thank Netgalley and Hodder & Stoughton for a review copy of Scorched Earth, the seventh novel to feature DS Aector McAvoy of the Hull Serious and Organised Crime Unit.When Aector's friend, ex policeman Percy, reports strange goings on in the disused house next to his nursing home Aector goes to investigate and finds a dead body pinned to the wall and traces of a young girl having been kept prisoner. In the meantime Lincolnshire trainee detective, Angela Verity is investigating the possible disappearance of a groom, Crystal Heathers who posted on Facebook that she's gone on holiday, her mum says she doesn't have a passport. Aector senses a connection and goes to interview Crystal's boss Joel Musgrave. What he discovers is far worse than he could have imagined.I thoroughly enjoyed Scorched Earth which is a multi layered, multi stranded, intelligent thriller - with its action and conspiracies it would be misleading to call it a procedural, especially as Aector is known to rip up the rule book when it suits him.The plot had me glued to the pages from the start where it opens with Manu, a former Mozambiquan boy soldier, and a murder in The Jungle at Calais. His heartbreaking story gradually unfolds over the course of the novel but I'm not going to tell you how he fits into it, suffice to say it's fascinating. There are plenty of twists and turns to the novel, many of which surprised me, which make it a great read. The dead body actually gets a little lost in Aector's desire to find Crystal and his widening investigation but such is the power of the plotting that it doesn't matter.As usual in this series Superintendent Trish Pharaoh acerbic wit provides the light relief and is contrast to Aector's more serious personality. He is obviously a smart detective with good instincts but is crippled with low self esteem and sees himself as lucky rather than good. He is a lovely man with a real sense of honour and a need to help people. Unfortunately this need often puts him in the firing line and ultimately hospital.Scorched Earth is a good read which I have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Sally Boocock
    2018-12-18 17:25

    As always I really enjoyed David Marks books. However I feel a little more McAvoy would be welcomed. I appreciate the storylines but miss the rapport between him and Trish. But the story was excellent. Extremely brutal but to be expected from Mr Mark as he doesnt like to do things by halves. Looking forward to the next one which if the ending of this one is anything to go by will be equally as good.

  • Martin Waight
    2019-01-09 00:14

    This is another great title from this author. A gripping plot, drawing the reader into the story. Strongly recommended. My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read an advance copy.

  • Annette
    2018-12-20 21:14

    This is the 7th book in the DS McAvoy series and was a good read that kept me on my toes due to the plethora of characters and plot lines.Crystal has a job working as a groom for wealthy Joel Musgrave and also helps out with his young horse- mad daughter, Primrose. One day Crystal disappears and is reported missing by her mother. However only trainee policewoman Verity believes something terrible has happened to her and starts to investigate.DS McAvoy is visiting his friend, retired policeman Perry in his old age home and is directed by Perry to some strange happenings in the derelict house opposite. Aector goes to investigate and discovers a dead body. The author links these two plot strands as the novel progresses and Aector teams up with Verity to find out what has happened to Crystal.I have read the previous novels in the series so picked up the references to earlier books and villains, particularly Aector’s old nemesis who returns in this story. This did help with my understanding of what was happening.I liked the extra background information about Aector and his relationships both with his wife Roisin and his boss Trisha who is obviously secretly in love with him! He is a great character, a gentle unassuming giant with a well developed sense of decency which shines through in every novel..This book was quite violent in places and for this reason might not appeal to readers who enjoy a more sedate crime thriller.It can be read as a stand alone novel but as it is part of a series it might be better to read the earlier ones first.I liked the setting of Hull and it’s environs which is obviously an area the author knows well.Recommended to those who like gritty crime thrillers. Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for my arc in exchange for an honest review.