Read A Touch of Gold by Annie Sullivan Online

a-touch-of-gold

Gold is wealth. Wealth is power. Power is a curse.King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secrGold is wealth. Wealth is power. Power is a curse.King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide.Kora spends her days locked in the palace, concealed behind gloves and veils, trying to ignore the stares and gossip of courtiers. It isn’t until a charming young duke arrives that Kora realizes there may be someone out there who doesn’t fear her or her curse. But their courtship is disrupted when a thief steals precious items from the kingdom, leaving the treasury depleted and King Midas vulnerable. Thanks to her unique ability to sense gold, Kora is the only one who can track the thief down. As she sails off on her quest, Kora learns that not everything is what it seems—not thieves, not pirates, and not even curses. She quickly discovers that gold—and the power it brings—is more dangerous than she’d ever believed.Midas learned his lesson at a price. What will Kora’s journey cost?From author Annie Sullivan comes A Touch of Gold, the untold story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, perfect for fans of Cinder and The Wrath and the Dawn.This book features a beautiful, decorated cover....

Title : A Touch of Gold
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780310766353
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

A Touch of Gold Reviews

  • Melanie
    2018-09-03 20:11

    ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

  • Jackie
    2018-09-21 23:49

    *4.5 stars*I can count on one hand the number of books that I’ve read that are written so beautifully that you end up being completely enchanted and immersed into the world to the point that you don’t even notice how much time has passed by and this book manages to do it within the first few pages of the prologue. “A Touch of Gold” follows Kora, the daughter to the infamous King Midas as she struggles to come to terms with her curse that has been passed down by her father and when thieves storm the castle taking the remaining pieces of gold that have kept her father alive all these years she finds that she’s the only person with the power to reclaim them even if it means venturing off into a world she’s been kept away from with a power she has yet to allow her self to understand and right into the hands of pirates hellbent on using her to sustain their greed. Everything about this book and the language used draws you in to this world where you can all but smell the salt of the sea in the air and see the glow of the gold beneath the waves. There are some moments that are predictable but because everything else was so great you don’t really care. I enjoyed the pirate aspect a lot and it was nice to see so much life given to side characters so they did more than fill a minor purpose to the plot and then stand in the back for the remainder of the novel, and the antagonist was something a few shades darker than your average “Pirates of the Caribbean” villain who manages to carry the weight of the legends surrounding his name. The ending was a bit rushed to me and though it appears to be a stand alone it was left in a way that leaves the door open for more and I really hope we end up getting a few adventures out of these characters and seeing an expansion of this story outside of the classic mythology, but overall this is a solid story with everything you could wish for from curses, betrayal and pirates with a trickster god mixed in, it really doesn’t get much better.**special thanks to the publishers and edelweiss for providing an arc in exchange for a fair and honest review**

  • Dana
    2018-09-16 18:53

    This was a fun YA fable reimagining and adventure story. Think Frozen with gold instead of ice.

  • Catherine
    2018-09-18 02:01

    ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

  • Annie Sullivan
    2018-09-13 23:48