Read Windigo Moon: A Novel of Native America by Robert Downes Online

windigo-moon-a-novel-of-native-america

The great love of Blue Heron and Red Bear sustain an Ojibwe clan as it struggles to survive war, famine, and the coming of foreign explorers bearing deadly diseases. The blood feud between two rival warriors over the love of Ashagi, a strong-willed woman of great beauty and greater determination threads through this story of one Ojibwe clan on the cusp of great change. A yThe great love of Blue Heron and Red Bear sustain an Ojibwe clan as it struggles to survive war, famine, and the coming of foreign explorers bearing deadly diseases. The blood feud between two rival warriors over the love of Ashagi, a strong-willed woman of great beauty and greater determination threads through this story of one Ojibwe clan on the cusp of great change. A young woman from a peaceful village, Ashagi (Blue Heron) is abducted in a raid conducted by the Sioux, the ancestral enemies of her clan, and made a concubine of a fat, slovenly chief who already has two wives. When she is rescued by Misko (Red Bear), an Ojibwe youth, the two fall in love and a lifelong bond is formed. But Nika, Misko’s rival, demands that Misko surrender Ashagi to replace his brother who was killed during a raid involving the young warriors’ two clans. As Nika’s pride and obsession with Ashagi eats away at his sanity, greater danger for the whole Ojibwe way of life creeps ever closer.Warfare, vengeance, supernatural monsters, and strange spirits all claw at the edges of this love triangle, but the power of the clan and the love of family and tradition helps sustain a culture on the verge of harrowing times. Beginning in 1588 and spanning twenty-five years, WINDIGO MOON encompasses warring tribes of the Upper Great Lakes, the onset of the Little Ice Age of the 1600s, the diseases introduced by foreign explorers, and, always and forever, the great love of Blue Heron and Red Bear.Meticulously researched and beautifully written, WINDIGO MOON will appeal to fans of Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear, Jean Auel, Alexander Thom, Anna Lee Waldo, and other top authors of historical fiction....

Title : Windigo Moon: A Novel of Native America
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 36184807
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 330 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Windigo Moon: A Novel of Native America Reviews

  • Robert Downes
    2019-01-07 22:16

    This being my own book, I am of course highly enthusiastic! It's set 400 years ago among the Ojibwe Indians of the Upper Great Lakes. The 1500s, also known as the "Lost Century" by historians, were an apocalyptic time for Native Americans. In "Windigo Moon," the village of a young woman, Ashagi, is destroyed by tribal warfare. Abducted and held as a concubine by a Dakota chieftain, she is rescued by an Ojibwe warrior, Misko, whose own village is destroyed by diseases introduced by far-off European explorers. Together, at a young age, Ashagi and Misko must lead the survivors of their Ojibwe clan forward through a perilous time that includes the Little Ice Age of the 1600s. Extensively researched, the book includes the legends, customs, beliefs and supernatural beings of the Ojibwe in a story that spans 31 years prior to contact with the Europeans.

  • Michael Dow
    2019-01-03 01:01

    I truly, truly enjoyed this book. I'm not big reader of historical fiction, but this book caught my eye. I was not disappointed. A well-crafted love story set in the late 1500's and across the Great Lakes region, I quickly found myself immersed in the winding plot lines of the Ojibwe Indian protagonists, as well as many of the supporting cast. The map and glossary at the front of the book were frequent references, and very helpful in navigating events as they unfolded. Ultimately, though, it's the love triangle between Misko, Ashagi, and Nika that drives the story. The author does an excellent job of weaving in all sorts of little-known historical and cultural truths within the fictional plot line. A wonderful read, 5-stars.