Read The Secret by R.L. Toalson Online

the-secret

A magical boy. A jealous king. A dangerous discovery. The Secret is a dark but invigorating beginning to an epic fantasy series inspired by well known fairy tales, fables and nursery rhymes, from award-winning author R.L. Toalson. This fast-paced literary fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Potter, The Land of Stories and the Earthsea series. King Willis is a dreadful kinA magical boy. A jealous king. A dangerous discovery. The Secret is a dark but invigorating beginning to an epic fantasy series inspired by well known fairy tales, fables and nursery rhymes, from award-winning author R.L. Toalson. This fast-paced literary fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Potter, The Land of Stories and the Earthsea series. King Willis is a dreadful king—cruel, ostentatious, and (dare we say it?) large. The kingdom of Fairendale is the most beautiful of all the lands, and he is the one who rules it. How very fortunate. But the king carries a dark secret that he has passed along to his son, Prince Virgil—a secret that could mean the loss of Fairendale’s throne. And when a prophetess shows up at the castle with the news that there is another boy, born in the village, who carries the gift of magic—the single most important requirement for ruling the kingdom of Fairendale—Prince Virgil must now decide between saving his best friend or saving an entire village. The Secret is the first episode in Season 1 of Fairendale, a magical middle grade series that explores the world of fairy tales, dragons, wizards, and other magical creatures. The world of Fairendale revolves around villains and heroes—all on a quest for what they believe is right. But one cannot always know, at first glance, who is the villain and who is the hero. Throughout the series, the story of King Willis and his determination to keep the throne is woven into the story of his son, Prince Virgil, heir to the throne and friend to the village children, and the story of fairy tale children fleeing for their lives—children who become what we know as fairy tale villains, for one good reason or another. But, remember, one cannot always know, at first glance, who is the villain and who is the hero....

Title : The Secret
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 30240229
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 101 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Secret Reviews

  • Bonnie Keck
    2019-01-26 06:51

    Not Kindle Unlimited {1 seems permafree maybe, 7 seems KU} {2 gotten on freebie day} Good premise, but feel as if am outsider being told a story, condescendingly, and being popped in and out of different scenarios without being properly prepared for the next, so keep losing track of what's going on and with who.Too complex for a younger person, yet too confusing to hold attention of someone older.The Secret (Fairendale Book 1) - The Pursuit (Fairendale Book 2) - The Crossing (Fairendale Book 3) - The Dragons (Fairendale Book 4) - The Aftermath (Fairendale Book 5) - The Separation (Fairendale Book 6) - The Boy Who Spun Gold (Fairendale Book 7)related books Lands of Fairendale, Good King, Magical Rules

  • frkvinter
    2019-01-31 00:35

    A sweet and well written story. Im quite tempted to continue with the series :)

  • Mary Rowe
    2019-01-22 23:43

    More satisfying than a lighthearted fairytale I expected.

  • Straykatstrut
    2019-01-22 07:48

    Digital page turner. Would like to read further in the series. Recommended!

  • Anna Maria
    2019-02-08 05:36

    I read this book with my 10 year old daughter. We both enjoyed the book very much and found that it was really interesting, full of magic and well described. We can't wait for the second one as we are really intrigued and want to see what happens in the next book. I recommend mammys to read it to their children.

  • Bethany Brewster
    2019-01-29 07:40

    Good, evil, romance, sadness, fun, and danger!I read this book with my 3 kids who ranged in age from 6-13. We all enjoyed the book that was full of so many things. From magic, to heartbreak this book will keep you reading! We can't wait for the second one.

  • Sonja
    2019-02-03 06:49

    Good storyI enjoyed the story very much. I hope to find the rest and read them also. Good luck to the author.

  • Patricia
    2019-01-21 05:33

    I read this book to see if it would be appropriate for my grandchildren. The oldest is now 11, and I think he would absolutely love this series. It has magic, mermaids (not the nice ones!), the promise of dragons, knights, castles--and rambunctious children to interact with it all. Fun stuff for an 11-year old boy! I think this is a great read-aloud book, especially for younger children who might not understand some of the more gruesome aspects of the story line. Great discussion points along the way. I would recommend that parents pre-read, just like you would preview a movie, to make sure your child and this series are a good fit. Plus, it's a wonderful tale for adults to read! I'm planning on reading the whole series just because I'm enjoying it so much!