Read The Reckoning by Sam Kates Online

the-reckoning

Unnatural calm prevails. Trepidation builds. Silently, a storm gathers. Survivors from mainland Europe and North America converge on Britain. Weary, confused, all come seeking answers; some are spoiling for a fight. What began with the Cleansing and was hastened by the Beacon nears fruition. But time is running out, and human numbers are too few to win the last battle alonUnnatural calm prevails. Trepidation builds. Silently, a storm gathers. Survivors from mainland Europe and North America converge on Britain. Weary, confused, all come seeking answers; some are spoiling for a fight. What began with the Cleansing and was hastened by the Beacon nears fruition. But time is running out, and human numbers are too few to win the last battle alone. Unless help can be found from the unlikeliest of allies, failure is assured. Humankind faces its ultimate test. The Reckoning is upon us....

Title : The Reckoning
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 27862490
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 356 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Reckoning Reviews

  • Liz Barnsley
    2018-11-26 11:01

    So we (sadly) come to the end of the Earth Haven saga then - Sam Kates has written a brilliant trilogy one in which the end is not disappointing but marvellous, I have loved it all the way through.The thing about this story is it does have a more unusual plot, something slightly different to the normal "plague comes everyone wanders about fighting with each other then dies" type post apocalyptic drama - very character focused with moments as well of pure action, that come upon you suddenly and leave you slightly out of breath.In The Reckoning the final battle is coming, it is a battle of unexpected allies and unusual foes as has been set up during the previous two books - on the way to the really quite excellent finale the author pulls together the various strands of the created mythology in fine fashion - addictive reading from some very clever writing.I do like a well told yarn and this is a darned good one - the first book really set the scene and was unexpectedly clever - book two gave the middle ground as things settled then went into upheavel once more - all the time we were getting to know more and more about a set of characters I have come to love and certainly they will stay with me. Overall a really excellent and top notch set of novels to be had here - a story to be savoured and I have no hesitation in highly recommending these for fans of Scifi, Fantasy and post apocalytic shenanigans - I can't imagine that you will be disappointed especially if you like something just slightly quirkier than expected. And absolute brownie points for never letting the quality slip. Not a single dull moment to be had anywhere in the Earth Haven trilogy. Rocking.Happy Reading Folks!

  • The Literary Connoisseur
    2018-12-10 16:21

    The third and final installment of the Earth Haven trilogy is finally here, and the Literary Connoisseur's verdict is in.First there was the Cleansing of Earth Haven. Then, the Beacon was activated, which signaled to more toxic beings destined to destroy what we call home. And in the end, there will be a Reckoning.The Reckoning was an extremely satisfactory ending to an original Sam Kates story. As I expected, The Reckoning was missing the key elements that made The Cleansing (book one) magical. The Cleansing provided a fresh, new story that captured my attention at first glance. The Beacon held my interest and further dug me deeper into the story of Earth Haven. The Reckoning wrapped everything up (in as neat a package as possible). Like most trilogy endings, The Reckoning provided a story that didn't have me as enthralled as the first two, but in the end completed me. The third and final book may not be my favorite of the trilogy, but it was certainly fulfilling enough to have the Earth Haven series, once again, at the top of my favorites list.There were shocking moments in the Reckoning that I didn't see coming. There were well-needed character developments, and introductions to characters that were key to the story. The Reckoning contained everything needed in a "final book."I am giving The Reckoning four stars out of five, but I'm giving the Earth Haven trilogy five stars altogether.I am not a sci-fi fan. But I am a huge Sam Kates fan.

  • Kath Middleton
    2018-11-27 17:25

    This is the third and final part of the Earth Haven series and just as the two earlier books have provided surprises, The Reckoning does so too. It's hard to give away specifics without spoiling the earlier books for those still to read them but I will say that things aren't always as the reader thought. In fact they aren't as many of the characters thought either. This is a successful and seemingly effortless blend of speculative post-apocalyptic story and science fiction. We follow the fortunes of various groups, including those of the species bent on wiping out humanity and there are shocks in store even for them. Ends are tied up from the first two books, successfully but not always happily. This has been a totally gripping series and I highly recommend it to all sci-fi and speculative fiction readers.I received an advance review copy of this book from the publisher.

  • Miriam Michalak
    2018-11-23 15:58

    3.5 stars for a decent finale to the Earth Haven series. Good, solid writing made this an easy read and was nice to have the tale all wrapped up. It dropped half a star for me as some of the side characters seemed a little superfluous and the whole 'London War' sections were uninteresting and didn't add a whole lot to the tale.Earth Haven is good post apocalyptic fiction, which is exactly what I was looking for when I came across Sam Kates - would recommend it!

  • David Richardson
    2018-11-11 18:19

    A fitting end to the series. It wrapped nicely withal questions answered. Well almost all. Sorts leaves a door open for a possible sequel. Overall a good series.

  • kathy bracy
    2018-12-01 13:58

    Even better on second readingRe-read the earth haven trilogy. Loved it even more the second time. A rollicking adventure, mind reading and mind controlling aliens here from thousands of years ago. Such good characterisations that you want to meet them, humans and aliens and dusty.