Read Why Did the Policeman Cross the Road?: How to Solve Problems Before They Arise by Stevyn Colgan Online

why-did-the-policeman-cross-the-road-how-to-solve-problems-before-they-arise

How did a teenage wizard foil teams of illegal street gamblers?How do smokers help prevent your car being broken into?What do sex workers and tiger farms have in common?Why do bees make the best sheepdogs for elephants?And how do the phantom bus stops of Dusseldorf keep vulnerable old people safe?What links these seemingly unconnected questions is good problem-solving.StevHow did a teenage wizard foil teams of illegal street gamblers?How do smokers help prevent your car being broken into?What do sex workers and tiger farms have in common?Why do bees make the best sheepdogs for elephants?And how do the phantom bus stops of Dusseldorf keep vulnerable old people safe?What links these seemingly unconnected questions is good problem-solving.Stevyn Colgan is an author, artist and popular public speaker. He’s one of the writers of the hugely successful BBC TV series QI andThe Museum of Curiosity. But, in a previous career, he spent 30 years as a police officer in London during which he became involved in a small but potent revolution. He and some of his colleagues realised that there was a smarter way to tackle crime and public concerns that didn’t always mean clogging the judicial system with copious arrests or flooding the streets with extra cops. This new style of intelligent problem-solving policing took the cleverest ideas from academic research, military strategy, business, marketing, public health and many other areas of work, mixed them all up with a good dollop of original thinking and solved problems that had previously been labelled as unsolvable.In this remarkable book, he tells the story of his work in Scotland Yard’s innovative Problem Solving Unit and how the team tackled some of London’s most persistent problems. Along the way, you’ll find out how dog shows stopped young men killing each other, how lollipops prevented night club closures, how wheelie bins worked in cahoots with burglars, and why celebrities should be covered in chewing gum. You’ll also discover how bird tables can prevent car crashes, how fake vomit can clean up the streets, and why sitting down in Japan may just result in a sore bottom.Why did the Policeman Cross the Road? is a celebration of original thinking, peppered with fascinating research and entertaining stories in the tradition of books such as Levitt and Dubner’s Freakonomics, Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point and Leonard Mlodinow’s The Drunkard’s Walk.And it’s more than possible that the book contains some little tool or technique that could help you solve some of the problems in your own life....

Title : Why Did the Policeman Cross the Road?: How to Solve Problems Before They Arise
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781783522330
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 300 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Why Did the Policeman Cross the Road?: How to Solve Problems Before They Arise Reviews

  • Celso Pinto
    2019-06-08 03:30

    Entertaining and has a lot more to offer than what meets the eye.

  • Alan Mchenry
    2019-05-29 00:17

    This is a great read, interesting and informative. A great explanation of the intelligence unit of the Metropolitan Police and Stevyn's involvement in setting it up.

  • Janice Staines
    2019-05-20 00:25

    'Why Did The Policeman Cross The Road?' is no joke, but it is a very thought provoking, sensitive and humorous book! Stevyn Colgan calls upon his 30 years experience as a Metropolitan Police Officer to illustrate why he believes that preventing crime is better than catching the bad guys after a crime has been committed. He shows how a little creative thinking can be used to put the power and the advantage back into the hands of the community and make the community stronger as a result. This book is full of heart-warming and life-enhancing stories and I am sure you will feel enriched for having read it.

  • Daniel Wood
    2019-05-18 02:12

    Interesting, engaging and funny throughout! The value of policing (when it's not focused on arrest figures and intimidation), the difference applying true problem solving can make, and the importance of putting bins away are all revealed. Makes you want to be a cop again!

  • Neil Denham
    2019-05-21 01:24

    Super book, from a super publisher! This book is the essence of my worldview - community building with some solid skepticism thrown in! Very funny and endlessly interesting, I have a whole load of notes from this book that I need to follow up on Wikipedia!

  • Stuart Tares
    2019-06-04 03:26

    A very interesting read about what happens when you look at a problem in the round and not just as a way of "fixing" something short term.