Read Yaşadığımı İtiraf Ediyorum by Pablo Neruda Ahmet Arpad Online

yaadm-tiraf-ediyorum

Yaşadığımı İtiraf Ediyorum, serüvenlerle dolu bir yaşam kitabıdır. Kimi zaman ısırıcı, kimi zaman şiir dolu... Bir haber verme, bir hesaplaşma, lirik bir atılım, dostlara sesleniş, geçmişe ve yarınlara bir ant içmedir Pablo Neruda'nın anıları. Bu anılarda şairin yaşamının bütün duraklarını, şiirlerini yaratış sürecini, başta Lorca, Alberti, Hernández, Eluard, Aragon, NâzımYaşadığımı İtiraf Ediyorum, serüvenlerle dolu bir yaşam kitabıdır. Kimi zaman ısırıcı, kimi zaman şiir dolu... Bir haber verme, bir hesaplaşma, lirik bir atılım, dostlara sesleniş, geçmişe ve yarınlara bir ant içmedir Pablo Neruda'nın anıları. Bu anılarda şairin yaşamının bütün duraklarını, şiirlerini yaratış sürecini, başta Lorca, Alberti, Hernández, Eluard, Aragon, Nâzım Hikmet olmak üzere şair dostlarıyla ilişkilerini, Şili'nin Cunta tarafından öldürülen lideri Salvador Allende'yi buluruz."Benim anılarım hayaletlerle dolu bir galeridir" der Neruda: "Belki ben kendi hayatımı değil de, başkalarının hayatını yaşadım... Benim hayatım, bütün hayatlardan oluşmuş bir hayattır; bir şair hayatıdır."...

Title : Yaşadığımı İtiraf Ediyorum
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9789758745234
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 367 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Yaşadığımı İtiraf Ediyorum Reviews

  • Jareed
    2019-04-04 18:12

    "Perhaps I didn't live just in myself, perhaps I lived the lives of others…My life is a life put together from all those lives: the lives of the poet." (1) Pablo NerudaPablo Neruda, born Neftali Ricardo Reyes Basoalto, was a Nobel Prize for Literature laureate (1971), a poet whose verses breathe life themselves, whose life, was poetry itself. Gabriel Garcia Marquez fearlessly called him the "the greatest poet of the 20th century in any language." Che Guevara ,in his diaries revered Neruda as his favorite writer, and carried only two books with him till his death, one of which was Neruda’s Cantos General (the reason of which will be readily apparent later on). He was not just a poet; he was THE poet of the people, of the oppressed, the unheard, and the forgotten.Primera Vida: A Child of the Forest "Perhaps love and nature were, very early on, the source of my poems." (19) Temuco Chile, who wouldn't fall in love with that?Neruda aptly starts his Memoirs by writing where it all began, in the then frontier lands of Temuco, Chile, emblazoned by nature’s ardor.Nature made me euphoric (7),Neruda writes and indeed, nature did become an indispensable aspect throughout his poems as the reader would conspicuously experience throughout his works. He characterized his childhood with modesty and austerity when referring to their economic and fiscal means, and yet one cannot help but feel that he was nothing but rich beyond measure as he reminisced his childhood with picturesque landscapes, forest adventures, and long walks defined by an indescribable affinity with nature.I have come out of that landscape, that mud, that silence, to roam, to go singing through the world (7).And sing he did. Segunda Vida: A Barred Poet, Militant Student, and Gabriela Mistral’s Touch. A later photo showing Neruda with Mistral, they also both ended up as diplomatsAs expected, Neruda’s father did not welcome the fact that his son wanted to become a poet amidst their challenging living conditions. The encouragement he failed to find in his father, Neruda found abounding with Gabriela Mistral(later to be a fellow Nobel Laureate (1945)), who introduced him to Russian classics. Neruda was undaunted, he continued to take poetry as a profession and went to a university at Santiago, Chile. While in the university he got acquainted with hunger and intermittent homelessness, his poems were all that kept him defiantly warm and firm.Tercera Vida: A Diplomatic Affair"I learned what true loneliness was, in those days and years” (49). Neruda visits the USSRNeruda opted to accept an appointment as a consul after leaving the university and was first assigned in Rangoon, that further lead him to Colombo, Batavia, Singapore, Paris, and Mexico to name a few, the memoirs would suggest that Neruda welcomed the appointment, but other accounts tells that it was dire financial need that compelled him to accept the said appointment. Whichever the case was, his consulship had a very profound effect on him, meeting a vast number of notable personas, chief of this was Loneliness. Solitude, in this case, was not a formula for building up a writing mood but something as hard as a prison wall; you could smash your head against the wall and nobody came, no matter how you screamed or wept. (92) Unlike most poets, loneliness was a revolting concept in literary endeavors to someone like Neruda who celebrated love and life. And to combat this loneliness he wrote, “I went so deep into the soul and the life of the people" (view spoiler)[…i fell and lost my heart to a native girl(hide spoiler)](90). He sought to immerse himself with the land and the people wherever he was based, this aside from meeting personalities like Nehru, Miguel Asturias (awarded the Nobel in 1967), Picasso, Joliot-Curie, Federico Lorca, Fidel Castro and Che Guevara (later on)."The poet cannot be afraid of the people. Life seemed to be handing me a warning and teaching me a lesson I would never forget: the lesson of hidden honor, of fraternity we know nothing about, of beauty that blossoms in the dark."(89)Indeed this philosophy modeled by this consulship will lead him to directly take part in defending the Spanish Republic through propagandas and more essentially, his poems (an aspect which will be fully utilized in Chile’s very own struggles). Cuarta Vida: The People’s Poet, A Senator, and a Communist on the Run "…politics became part of my poetry and my life. In my poems I could not shut the door to the street, just as I could not shut the door to love, life, joy, or sadness in my young poet's heart."(55) Neruda embracing Allende, also from the Left Wing, whom he supported for the PresidencyWith his direct participation in the Spanish Civil war, he was removed from his post and returned to Chile. He entered the political scene and was elected a Senator in 1945, and later officially joined the Chilean Communist Party. The President elect of the same term hailed from the same Communist party but turned on against the Party and he banned the PArty altogether in 1948, with Neruda being removed in office, he surreptitiously escaped Chile and lived in exile for the next three years. Throughout those unwelcoming times, Neruda’s greatest weapon was his poems. “At hundreds of rallies, in places remote from one another, I heard the same request: to read my poems. They were often asked for by title.” (170)His ardent feeling towards the people and his poetry at this point cannot be denied, and it was riveting.(view spoiler)[ “I have lived for my poetry and my poetry has nourished everything I have striven for. And if I have received many awards, awards fleeting as butterflies, fragile as pollen, I have attained a greater prize, one that some people may deride but not many can attain… That is my reward, not the books and the poems that have been translated, or the books written to explicate or to dissect my words. My reward is the momentous occasion when, from the depths of the Lora coal mine, a man came up out of the tunnel into the full sunlight on the fiery nitrate field, as if rising out of hell, his face disfigured by his terrible work, his eyes inflamed by the dust, and stretching his rough hand out to me, a hand whose calluses and lines trace the map of the pampas, he said to me, his eyes shining: "I have known you for a long time, my brother." That is the laurel crown for my poetry, that opening in the bleak pampa from which a worker emerges who has been told often by the wind and the night and the stars of Chile: "You're not alone; there's a poet whose thoughts are with you in your suffering." (179) (hide spoiler)]Neruda returned to Chile in the next presidential elections, at the same time abandoning his nomination to run for the Presidency and instead supported Allende’s run, who will later win. Quinta Vida: A Lover’s Life "Perhaps love and nature were, very early on, the source of my poems." (19) Neruda with MathildeLove completes the vital elements that comprise Neruda’s impeccably conceived poems. And of course, to write poetry as good as he did, inspiration must have come by the lot. Neruda had the penchant for overlapping love affairs characterized by sudden departures and intermittent unconventional sexual encounters. (view spoiler)[ an encounter even, In my modest opinion, clearly bordered rape by any standards already. The incident concerned a househelp of the lowest caste. Neruda wrote, “One morning, I decided to go all the way. I got a strong grip on her wrist and stared into her eyes. There was no language I could talk with her. Unsmiling, she let herself be led away and was soon naked in my bed. Her waist, so very slim, her full hips, the brimming cups of her breasts made her like one of the thou¬sand-year-old sculptures from the south of India. It was the com¬ing together of a man and a statue. She kept her eyes wide open all the while, completely unresponsive. She was right to despise me. The experience was never repeated. (99) (hide spoiler)] Neruda had three wives and each have been the subject of a set or collection of poems. Matilde Urrutia, however was the inspiration for the 100 Love Sonnets.--Neruda died twelve days after Allende was killed (1973) by Pinochet’s attack of the presidential palace. As it stands, Neruda’s cause of death was by prostate cancer, although later claims emerged that he was poisoned for his Pro-Allende stances enough to call for an exhumation of the body, the same act is claimed to have been ordered by the Pinochet Regime. The body was exhumed in 2013 (the Neruda Foundation fought against exhuming the body) and test results revealed in November 2013 negated any existence of chemical compounds. The great poet succumbed to cancer. ____________________________________Originally entitled I Confess I Have Lived, Memoirs was first published in 1974, under the editorial ambit of Mathilde Urrutia. Memoirs, is essentially a poem in prose by the manner Neruda wrote this. His lyrical style was unrelenting. Take for example this excerpt on one instance when an earthquake hit, “…Sometimes it all begins with a vague stirring, and those who are sleeping wake up. Sleeping fitfully, the soul reaches down to pro¬found roots, to their very depth under the earth. It has always wanted to know it. And knows it now. And then, during the great tremor, there is nowhere to run, because the gods have gone away, the vainglorious churches have been ground up into heaps of rubble.(59)”Or his reaction upon seeing the sea the first time, “The first time I stood before the sea, I was overwhelmed. The great ocean unleashed its fury there between two big hills, Huilque and Maule. It wasn't just the immense snow-crested swells, rising many meters above our heads, but the loud pound¬ing of a gigantic heart, the heartbeat of the universe.(25)” This is the general tone by which Memoirs was written so those who relish and live by Neruda’s verses are never truly alienated in this prosaic work. The entries intermittently jump through pivotal years, but not one chapter failed to contain people and individuals that helped, changed and loved Neruda however monumental or minuscule that was, and so as it goes, he mentions unpublished poets, forgotten names and acquaintances to people who rocked the very foundations of life. Humorous instances are also contained in this work, how he reacted to the alleged awarding of the Nobel, to his pet mongoose, to a hysterically paranoid woman, and the reason why he choose the pen name Neruda. Along with this, Neruda nonchalantly tells of his sexual encounters, of which, of course, there were numerous. If you opened the spoiler above, you will understand my reservation to this seminal Author exist, perhaps, in that instance only. After reading his Memoirs, what came across is that Neruda is a poet through and through. It’s interesting to read that whatever he was subjected to, in whatever kind of instance or predicament he found himself in, the poet never left. He tells us of the various literary stimuli that lead to a specific work. To Neruda, his poems were not only both his sword and shield, it too was his soul.“The poet who is not a realist is dead. And the poet who is only a realist is also dead. The poet who is only irrational will only be understood by himself and his beloved, and this is very sad. The poet who is all reason will even be understood by jackasses, and this is also terribly sad. There are no hard and fast rules, there are no ingredients prescribed by God or the Devil, but these two very important gentlemen wage a steady battle in the realm of poetry, and in this battle first one wins and then the other, but poetry itself cannot be defeated.(265)” _______________________*Neruda is said to have written only in green ink, probably a color closest to the forest, other yet say that this was his personal symbol for desire and hope.I have reviewed other works by Pablo NerudaThe Book of Questions (4 Stars)Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair (3 Stars)This book forms part of my remarkably extensive reading list on Nobel Prize for Literature LaureatesThis review, along with my other reviews, has been cross-posted at imbookedindefinitely["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>["br"]>

  • ايمان
    2019-03-25 10:58

    انتظرت هذه السيرة كثيرا و بفضل صديق بروليتاري رفيق فكر توفرت لي لا يسعني أن أوفيه حقه بالشكر..ماذا أستطيع أن أقول عن نيرودا سيرة ملهمة علمتني أمرا ماأو حكاية انسان احترف الشعر كحياة و صادف أن عاش بين الشعر و السياسة مسافرا توحد العالم بقاراته بين يديه و يسن أوراقه صادف من الناس البسطاء و السياسيين و الثوريين و الكتاب و الأدباء ما جعل من سيرته هذه موسوعة قائمةبذاتها,لا انكر أني لم أركز على شغفه بعالم الرخويات و البحر و شغفه بالنبات بقدر ما ركزت على تفاصيل ملهمات شعره و تفاصيل دواوينه و علاقاته بالفنانين و غيرهم من الأدباء و بالأخص تفاصيل حياته كرجل شيوعي ثوري مناضل مرتحل ملاحق..نيرودا كان يؤرخ بشكل ما أدب أمريكا اللاتينية و أوروبا في فترة ما بين الحربين و بعدها لغاية وفاته و بوثق أيضا لفترات حرجة من تاريخ التشيلي و باقي أمركيا اللاتينية و اسبانيا و الصين و الهند و الاتحاد السوفياتي..لا أدري لما حز في نفسي أنه لم يأتي بذكر للحركات الشيوعية العربية و لا الى مقاومتها ضد الاحتلال و الرأسمالية كما تفاجأت أنه لم يذكر شخصية أممية كالمهدي بنبركة ربما لم يسمع به من قبل من يعلم.نيرودا كان انسانا قبل كونه سياسيا شيوعيا تظهر انسانيته في حبه لزوجته ماتيلدا التي خصها بديوان لحاله مئة سوناتة حب كما تظهر انسانيته في سعيه لانقاذ لاجئي أوروبا للتشيلي و في طريقة معاملته لخدمه لحيواناته لنباتاته..حين تتم هذه السيرة ستجد لسان حالك يقول بثقة أنه فعلا قد عاش..و أكثر من حياة .

  • Kshitiz Goliya
    2019-04-10 16:05

    I can only give a warning; after reading this book you will be forced to think that you have not really lived until now, that you were sleepwalking while the treasure of world lay open in front of you. He travelled to nearly every corner of the world and amalgamated himself with it. He discovered beauty and wealth in the mountain of andes and the arms of a Tamil untouchable in Ceylon. He fought for his poor countrymen, for peace, for humanism. While sometimes five star hotels greeted him, sometimes he found himself penniless with torn clothes clinging to nothing but his poetry for comfort. Neruda plays with word as a child with pebbles. He can leave you spell bound paragraph by paragraph, wanting for more. He talks to nature, to revolutions, to his beloved countrymen and describes his lovely homeland Chile with an art I have never ever come across. Poet, Politician, Traveller, Revolutionary and finally a great human being, Neruda is a not only a person but a phenomenon which must be explored through this book.

  • Sara Jesus
    2019-04-13 12:13

    Pablo Neruda. Grande poeta chileno. Vencedor do Prémio Nobel de 1971. Cônsul do Chile e mais tarde embaixador. Grande amigo de Jorge Amado. Um homem cheio de cultura e experiência. Político comunista... Marido apaixonado.... Poeta excomungado. Nesta obra, Pablo Neruda escreve as suas memórias. Um conjunto de cadernos em que dialoga todos os assuntos. Da sua poesia, das suas viagens, da sua ingressão da política, das suas relações internacionais... e da vida. Era necessário uma vida inteira para escrever sobre o poeta chileno. Tanto já se falou e escreveu sobre ele. As palavras que faltam... Apenas posso afirmar que sou grande admiradora da sua poesia, que conheci nas minhas aulas de português no 3 ciclo.

  • أحمد جابر
    2019-03-27 10:48

    وأنا أعترف أنك قد عشت يا بابلو، سيرة ذاتية مليئة بالدهشة والجمال والعطاء والحياة.في البداية ترى تشيلي بعين بابلو نيرودا، ما أجمل طبيعتها حسب وصفه، صرت مشتاقًا لرؤيتها حقًا، وأراهن على أن أشعاره ستكون يوم أقرأها مليئة بالورود والأزهار وأسمائها بعد أوصافه الجميلة لها، يكتب حتى الآن بسلاسة، ويوصل للقارئ ما يريد دون الدخول في متاهات، قصة العجائز الثلاث، والفتاة التي زارته في الليل.من الكتاب:إن عمل الكتّاب في رأيي، له شبه كبير بعمل أولئك الصيادين في القطب الشمالي، على الكاتب أن يبحث عن النهر فإن وجده متجمدًا فإنه يضطر أن يثقب الجليد. عليه أن يجلد ويصبر، أن يتحمل الطقس المعادي والنقد المضاد. أن يتحدى التفاهة، أن يبحث عن التيار العميق، أن يرمي بالصنارة الصالحة الصائبة، ليخرج بعد جهد جهيد وصبر شديد سمكة صغيرة. بيد أنه لا بد له من أن يرجع الكرة ويعود للصيد من جديد، ضد البرد، ضد الصقيع، ضد الماء، ضد النقد، وهكذا دواليك حتى يخرج في كل مرة صيدًا أكبر وأعظم.-----جلس رئيس الشرطة في مكان بارز في أول صف جلسة تفتيش وتحرّ وإنذار. من بعد عرفت أن أربع بنادق سريعة الطلقات كانت قد ركزت هناك ووجهت نحوي ونحو الجمهور. كانت ستنطلق فيما إذا غادر رئيس الشرطة مقعده وقاطع قراءة الشعر. لكن ما جرى شيء يستدعي ذلك، فقد ظل رئيس الشرطة في مقعده يستمع إلى أشعاري حتى النهاية.-----يذكر بابلو نيرودا في كتابه أعترف أنني قد عشت، شاعرًا أرجنتينيًا اسمه عمر بيغنولة، وكان هذا الشاعر مهندسًا زراعيًا أيضًا، وفي يوم مؤتمر نادي القلم العالمي الأول، جاء عمر راكبًا بقرته وأدخلها معه إلى قاعة المؤتمر رغم محاولات منعه من الشرطة وقتها. يكمل نيرودا حديثه عنه بقصة أخرى أن عمر بيغنولة تحدى ذات مرة مصارعًا يابانيًا بطلًا، فتجمع الناس منتظرين هذا النزال، ليدخل بعدها إلى الحلبة مع بقرته، ربطها في إحدى الزوايا، لكنها لم تفده بشيء، إذ قام المصارع بضربه ورميه فكان كتلة هامدة لا حول بها ولا قوة مما أدى إلى استهزاء واستخفاف الجمهور المحتشد الذين كانوا يطالبون باستمرار القتال رغم سقوط عمر بغنولة على الأرض بلا حراك. بعدها بشهور نشر كتابًا جديدًا بعنوان: أحاديث مع البقرة، بإهداء كالتالي: "أهدي هذا الكتاب الفلسفي إلى الأربعين ألف **** الذين كانوا يصفّرون لي ويستهزئون بي ويطالبون بموتي في حلبة الصراع ليلة 24 شباط".-----طريقة كتابته تدل على أنه شاعر، وخاصة في نهاية الأقسام تراه يكتب بطريقة جنونية عذبة

  • Patrick O'Neil
    2019-04-22 17:47

    I hate to say this but I think Neruda is a little heavy handed with words. He uses tons, he uses a whole freaking mountain worth of words and then some – homeboy can throw down some words. The man goes on and on, he makes every sentence obese with words, and more words. He’s a poet for Christ sake, isn’t he suppose to be all sparing with the words? What happened? Those guys usually just write a couple-a-fragmented-sentences and then call it a day, go drink some red wine, moan about the injustice of it all. And what’s the deal with the attention-deficit-disorder-jump-around-short-attention-span-can’t-keep-on-the-same-subject-for-more-that-six-pages thing? I’ve had more linear conversations with actively using crackheads.“Ah, the poets, the poets. There’s Juan Carlos el Topo del Norte, one of the finest poets the world has ever known. Too bad his words were never written down and published. That woman is looking at me, she wants me, of course she wants me. I’ll make love to her now. I need to go to Paris. Ah, the mountains, the forest, the land of my youth. It’s winter in France, where are my pants? Don Chi Chi del Pinnochi comes into my room, says you must try this woman, please, yes, I will try this woman, serve her to me like a side of Argentinean beef on a silver platter. She is magnificent, like no other, we both take her, we both agree, like no other we say – then we lose her in a taxicab. Oh, I’m an ambassador to Guam. There is a woman there that wants me, I know this, her beauty is like the poem I published in my book Pedacitos Poéticos Squirmy. Franco, what pain he cause his country. Where’s my ambassador salary? Look it’s Gandhi! The Fascists are in Germany. Are we there yet? She wants me, yes, yes she does. I Think I married her, we lived together for years. I was not at the consulate in Buenos Aires long. Barcelona. Oh, the poets, the poets…”Maybe it’s the translation. You can blame a lot on those insufferable translators. Yet what could anyone do with a couple of lines like this: “Girls of various colorings visited my campaign cot, leaving no record but the lightning spasm of the flesh. My body was a lonely bonfire burning night and day on that tropical coast.” (page 99)Ouch! Ick! Smoking sex machine, eh? Pablo just never stops, he’s sort of full of himself, sort of. I admire his ego, his stamina, his gall - although I had to fight the urge to take a shower between chapters – but I got tired of it really, really quick. That and the incessant name-dropping, the obscure references to published work, his and others, and the words. Too many words, man. Too many words.There is one scene/passage, it starts right after that horrid “lonely bonfire burning night and day on the tropical coast” line (middle of page 99 – 100). Where Pablo beds/forces a Tamil woman, who cleans out his shit pail every morning, to have sex with him. He goes on about her beauty, he compares her to a sculpture, and when they have sex he states: “It was the coming together of a man and a statue.” Ooooh, nice. Then he writes: “She kept her eyes wide open all the while, completely unresponsive. She was right to despise me. The experience was never repeated.” Right when I was about to toss the book across the room, for the fifth time I might add, Neruda goes and lets me see that he knows he’s a womanizing self centered egomaniac. She’s stiff as a statue, unresponsive to his machismo, submissive, because she was born into the pariah caste. She let him have his way, but she isn’t into it or him. Even Pablo, or Pablo’s ego actually, can grasp that she’s not interested. I know, no big revelation here, except, for a second I’m thinking maybe old Pablo really didn’t hold himself in such high regard as it appears he did – that it’s all mainly bravado, and he knows it. Then I threw the book across the room.However:“placid lakes, high up in the mountains, like eyes forgotten by wasteful gods.” (pg.155)Is such a lethargically beautiful image.“it was easier to pull a Mexican’s tooth then wrest his beloved gun from him.” (pg.157)This guy kills me.Yet I totally must admit the style, the language, and the pace, of the book is what really drove me insane. The truth is these days I want a little methamphetamine drive prose, just a little – too much and I’m shot to the curb, rubbing my eyes, wanting to go to sleep. David Sedaris, has just the right amount of ADD to keep the pace flowing and my interest engaged. Denis Johnson can get vague and wander a little bit. Ok, a lot. But when I’m reading one of his books I’m not looking at the map trying to figure out where he turned left and somehow we ended up in Winnemucca – he pointed me in that direction a long time ago, we’ve just made a few hundred stops along the way. Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s incredible memoir: Vivir Para Contarla (Living to Tell the Tale), while highly poetic and prose driven, managed to get me from point A to point B, in one smooth linear motion. And Marquez, sexist as he was/is, didn’t leave me with a queasy porno booth voyeur feeling – and besides, he’s freakin Gabriel Garcia Marquez, 100 years of Solitude man! Mary Karr composed the most beautiful dysfunctional memoir ever written and when I was done I wanted more, read Cherry, still wanted more – addictive she is. I had no preconceived notion as to what to expect from Neruda, I was interested, I was intrigued, I’ve never knowingly read his poetry, but I certainly knew who he was and have nothing but respect for the man and his politics – and still I found him hard to read. Perhaps he was a tad unleashed with the prospect of just writing about himself? I mean, I know the feeling. I’m so self-absorbed that’s all I write about – me, me, bloody me! Have I gone off the subject yet? Is this Winnemucca?Did I mention there were too many words?

  • Mamdouh Abdullah
    2019-04-22 11:01

    المطر هو الشخصية الوحيدة التي لا تنسى في مسيرة الشاعر التشيلي الكبير بابلو نيرودا. و تراقص الكلمات هي من أجبرت ذلك الذي أخذ اسم لا يعرف من هو صاحبه الأصلي ليغني عبر الكون : "تلك الكلمة التي كانت تحلق وتهبط, يهيم بها, يذعن لها, يتابعها, يلثمها, يذيبها, مغرم بها .. كل كلمة مباغتة ينتظرها في نهم, يترصدها بشغف. إنها لزبد, معدن, لندى, يلاحق كلمة, يطارد أخرى, يريد أن يحضنها في شعره, لكنها تطير, يقتنص إحداها, فيحس بها شفافة, رجراجة, كالثمرة, كحبة الزيتون .. تتدلى من القصيدة كما تتدلى عناقيد الرواسب من سقف مغارة."هنا قراءة قصيرة للكتاب من المدونةhttp://wp.me/p28q6M-1N

  • Fahad Alqurain
    2019-04-04 10:55

    نيرودا العظيم هُنا نيرودا الثائر ، نيرودا الإنسان

  • رغد قاسم
    2019-04-08 15:44

    لقد عاش بالفعل ، حياة ضخمة و مميزة بين كل دول العالم التي زارها .. بين كل الشعراء الذين كانوا اصدقائه، لوركا، اراغون، بول ايلوار، ناظم حكمت و رعاية غابرييلا مايسترال له ... صداقته لميغيل دي استورياس .. رعايته لاوكتافيو باث ،قابل غاندي، نهرو، ماوتسي تونغ، جيفارا، فيديل كاسترو، و ستالين بذاته أصر على ان ينال هو جائزته للصداقة بين الشعوب رغم كونه لم يسبق له التدخل في أختيارات اللجنة. يكفيه من حياته أن شاباً ضخماً و تاجر مخدرات يعتذر له عن اساءة التصرف بعد ان يعرف اسمه لأنه نال حب حبيبته بفضل قصائده!شاب آخر انتحر و ترك قصيدته "ظلال" مفتوحة عند الشجرة التي شنق نفسه عليها.. و عامل في اقصى الصحراء يخرج من منجم تحت الارض يصافحه ليقول له :أنا أعرفك جيداً كم شاعر لديه هذا الرصيد من المحبينسجن عدة مرات و انقذه من أحبوه ، في ايطاليا وقف البرتوا مورافيا بذاته مع زوجته حاملين الزهور للاحتجاج على تسفيره من ايطاليا و استطاعوا ابقاءه في البلد ... لقد عاش بالفعل ... كم منا سيحيا حياة بهذا القدر من الروعة

  • Farhan Khalid
    2019-04-11 09:52

    چلی کا پرسکون مہکتا ہوا گھنا جنگل آج بھی اپنی تمام تر شادابی سمیت میری یادوں میں لہلہاتا ہے بارش میرے لئے ایک نا قابل فراموش حقیقت کا درجہ رکھتی ہے میں نے پہلی بار اپنی آنکھیں زندگی، زمین، شاعری اور بارش کے لئے کھولیں میرا گھر ان سرحدی مکانوں جیسا تھا جو سب آپس میں مربوط تھے گھر میں ہمارے پاس ایک صندوق تھا جو دلچسپ چیزوں سے بھرا ہوا تھا مجھے کتابوں سے رغبت ہو گئی بچپن کی یادوں میں صحیح طور پر وقت کا تعین نہیں کیا جا سکتا بچپن میں ایک شدید جذبہ مجھ میں پیدا ہوا اور میں نے کچھ الفاظ آدھے وزن میں ترتیب دیے یہ ایک نظم تھی، اپنی سوتیلی ماں کے بارے میں میرے استاد نے کچھ ٹالسٹای، دوستوفسکی اور چیخوف کے ناول دیے بحر الکاہل آزاد ہو کر پہاڑوں کی چٹانوں پر موجود جھاڑیوں کے جھنڈ میں سے بار بار حملہ آور ہوتا رات اور جنگل مجھے خوشی سے بے حال کر دیتی شاید جنگل ان زندگیوں کو کھا گیا اداس عورتیں نے دنیا کے تنہا پہاڑوں اور جنگل کی تنہائی میں ایک عمدہ ثقافت کو محفوظ رکھا درخشاں سورج ایک نا تراشیدہ ہیرے کے مانند پہاڑوں کو جھلملاتا تھا اس سنہری تہوار میں شورو غل اور حرکت و عمل تھا اسکی مسکراہٹ میرے وجود کی گرہیں کھولتی اطراف و اکناف پر محیط ہو رہی تھی اس کی سانسوں کی موسیقی میری سماعت میں رس گھولنے لگیمیرا دماغ کتابوں اور خوابوں سے معمور تھا نظمیں شہد کی مکھیوں کی طرح میرے ارد گرد بھنبھناتی تھیں میں اپنی آزادی اور تنہائی سمیت وہاں رہنے لگا میری یادوں میں وہ ریل گاڑی ہمیشہ محفوظ رہے گی ہم روشنی کے دوازوں کی طرف بڑھ رہے تھے کثیر تعداد کے ہیجان خیز رنگوں کا اجتماع درخشاں تنہائیصوفیانہ طرز حیات کا اظہار ختم ہو گیا تھا میں دنیا کی اس قدیم ترین روح اور اس بڑے بد نصیب انسانی خاندان کے ساتھ رہنے آیا تھا تب وہ رات مجھے بہت طوفانی اور زمین بہت تنہا لگی

  • Arcadia
    2019-03-26 12:52

    I'm writing this early in the morning, and it seems to be that everything I had thought of saying about this book has left my brain. Nonetheless, this has been one of the top life-chainging books that I've read this year. Pablo Neruda has opened up Spanish literature to me in a beautifully accessible to way, to the extent that I began to read 'veinte poemas'. It's a compellingly beautiful narrative, where the story has as much interest as to Neruda's conjectures on life as a word crafter. I guess it had deeper resonance with me as it exposed me to a potential life as a poet that I endeavour to pursue. Reading his poetry has really showed me a peek of what is hidden behind his, somewhat in 'Confieso', sealed brilliance. That's why this gets a 4 and not a 5. This is a really uninspired review for what is truly a spectacular book, but its not even 9 in the morning :(

  • Tina
    2019-04-17 13:45

    Reli "Confesso que Vivi"para uma viagem rápida ao Chile, passando por Valparaíso, cidade que Neruda amava. Foi um reencontro com histórias maravilhosas, divertidas, emocionantes - é também uma ótima fonte para conversa de boteco. Acho que nunca marquei tanto um livro como esse. As homenagens aos amigos comunistas mortos e as reflexões sobre a política caótica do Chile e do mundo em plena guerra fria passaram a ter outro sentido, vinte anos depois da primeira leitura. E rever tudo isso ao mesmo tempo em que visitava as casas e as ruas descritas por Neruda foi uma experiência muito bacana. Quase me animei a ler poesia ;)

  • Maria Cecília
    2019-04-20 17:58

    As memórias do Poeta contadas com extaordinária simplicidade narrativa onde tudo é poesia. Muito bom,só podia ser!

  • David Camacho
    2019-03-30 11:09

    Resumir una vida tan versátil, valiente y sentimental como la de Pablo Neruda en un libro es una tarea difícil y, sin embargo, realizada. La historia parte desde su crianza en Chile y avanza cronológicamente hasta pocos días antes de su muerte. Está escrita en cortos capítulos que plasman recuerdos muy concretos y que van desde anécdotas curiosas, como el hombre que salta encima de los muertos, hasta hazañas políticas y humanistas como la participación de Neruda en la liberación de prisioneros españoles de campos de concentración y su traslado a Chile. Haciendo uso de estas islas memoriales, Pablo Neruda nos pasea por su vida sin dejar, en ningún momento, su narrativa poética a un lado: cada lugar, personaje o movimiento está descrito con la misma pluma con que fueron escritos sus grandes poemas, señalando el sentimentalismo y, muy discretamente, la nostalgia que contenían estos pasajes situados en las ajetreadas décadas en las que vivió este pintoresco personaje. A pesar de su profundo contenido histórico y narrativo, y sus efectos reflexivos sobre el lector, no es una lectura pesada ni compleja, siendo una invitación abierta para todos.

  • Shaudee
    2019-04-04 15:45

    A truly fanastic fantastical book of memoirs! Neruda has an amazing knack for language and mysticism, a quality that I'm sure can be difficult when writing fiction (even for a poet). The way he takes the figures of history (Che, Allende, and Paul Eluard) and turns them into such unique and strange characters is a real talent that I believe makes Neruda's non-fiction particularly compelling over other non-fiction historical works. I also appreciate the way in which he compartmentalized his memories into brief moments or scenes; this is how life is truly remembered. Our memories of the years do not so easily flow from one day to the next but instead are made up of fragments and pieces of what has struck us. Neruda's references to so many poets and authors is also a great and unique feature of the book, and already I have composed a list of works referenced in Memoirs that I'd like to check out. Neruda was an impressive man and confirmed my belief that poetry does, in fact, have the ability to move masses of people. It can be done! If only we let it!

  • Ahmed Almawali
    2019-03-24 11:13

    سيرةٌ كنتُ أتهيبُ الولوجَ بعالمِها خوفًا من ضخامتِها، ولم أكنْ أعلمُ حينها أنَّ ضخامتَها هو سرُّ جمالِها وروعتِها.نيرودا في رحلةِ حياتِه، رحلةِ الزمانِ والمكانِ، رحلةِ تقلباتِ الشعرِ وتطورِه، وتقلباتِ توجهِه السياسي، من الهندِ وسيلان لإسبانيا وباريس، إلى المكسيكِ ورحلةِ النفي عبرَ جبال تشيلي والارجنتين هربا وفَرقًا من اضطهادِ النظامِ. حياةٌ مليئةٌ إلى حدِّ التُخمةِ، مليئةٌ بعذوبةِ الشعرِ، برفقاءِ الحياةِ، في كل بلدٍ يحلُّ بهِ يكسبُ شبكةً من الخلانِ، سيكونون عونًا له في أوقاتٍ، ومصدرَ شؤم في أخرى، في كل هذا تكمنُ حياةُ نيروداالأسماءُ تحتل مكانةً غيرَ طبيعيةٍ في فلسفةِ نيرودا، ينظرُ إلى ما ورائِها، يتمتعُ، يتلذذُ بذكرِها، لها طقوسُها الخاصةُ معهُ. من أجملِ الكتب ِالتي قرأتُها؛ فهي موسيقى ترنُّ بكلِ جملةٍ فيها.

  • Sheri Fresonke Harper
    2019-04-03 16:48

    Pablo Neruda writes poetically about his country, Chile, and his duties representing his country and his poetry around the world. He also discusses what membership in the Communist Party meant to him since he came from a working class family and spent time with the miners and poor in his country.The book speaks of many of the South American, Russian, French, Spanish etc. poets he met during his life and how they helped each other out. He also explains some of his poetry readings, and how various situations that occurred during his life time affected him including the Spanish War, World War II, winning the Nobel Prize in Literature, etc.It's an enjoyable read and made me want to visit Chile.

  • Zoha Trabelsi
    2019-04-15 10:48

    السيرة الذاتية تخلص الشيوعية في شعر، الفكر الشيوعي بشاعر يناضل من أجل الفقراء في عصر الدكتاتورية العسكرية في أمريكا اللاتينية حين كانت الحرب الباردة في ذروتها، متحدثاً فيها عن الأسى والفقر والكفاح.رغم ان الكتاب كان ممل قليلاً في بعض الأجزاء لكن جيد عموماً، أكثر ما أثر في نفسي صفحات مقتل فيدريكو غارثيا لوركا بغدر تحت يد المليشيات.

  • Rosa Ramôa
    2019-04-11 14:05

    "Dois amantes felizes não têm fim nem morte,nascem e morrem tanta vez enquanto vivem,são eternos como é a natureza".

  • Yazeed AlMogren
    2019-04-11 16:03

    كتاب ممل بعض الشيء، يعتبر مهم لمن أحب قصائد الشاعر الكبير بابلو نيرودا فيه الكثير عن بداية حياته وجوانب شخصيته

  • Filomena Naves
    2019-04-14 11:52

    Uma voz singular sobre uma vida também singular durante uma parte do século XX. A memória de um tempo do mundo contada na primeira pessoa, que se devora, e que no fim nos deixa aquela sensação "que pena que acabou". São as histórias do homem e do poeta, mas é também a História, que encontramos nestas páginas às quais não falta sequer o humor. A ler, sem dúvida

  • Israel Calzadilla
    2019-03-28 15:13

    Mi primer paso serio hacia la lectura y el placer de la literatura fue en las manos de Neruda.Las memorias implícitas en Confieso que he vivido- cuasi novela a mi parecer-, confidencia espiritual, nos brindan una visión pormenorizada de la vida y la obra del autor.Neruda narra, con la inigualable potencia verbal que caracteriza a sus mejores escritos, no sólo los principales episodios de su vida, sino las circunstancias que rodearon la creación de sus poemas más famosos.Pable expone tanto su concepción del arte y de la poesía cuanto los motivos que le llevaron a defender hasta el final de su vida sus conocidas posiciones políticas. De forma no menos brillante, rememora la figura de algunos amigos: García Lorca, Alberti, Miguel Hernández, Eluard, Aragon y su relación con personajes destacados de la política contemporánea. A este respecto, resulta particularmente emotiva la evocación que cierra este libro de su amigo el presidente Allende escrita a los tres días de su trágica muerte.

  • Fernando Kaiowá
    2019-04-23 10:48

    One of the greatest poets ever telling about his incredible life.. An inspiring must read.

  • Sahar
    2019-04-11 13:44

    أعترف بأنني قد عشت لعبارة خطيرة في أفواهنا إذا لم نحتفظ بمدونة رحلات في أدراج مكتباتنا تحمل تواقيعنا في خريف العمر ... ليست الأهمية في محطات حياة بابلو نيرودا الصاخبة في حياته بقدر ما يودعه كتابه هذا من اكتشافات حضارية و ثقافية للدول التي يتحدث عنها باقتضاب .. نيرودا يكتب برائحة و طعم ولون و أصوات ... أنت تحتفظ بمكتبة مشاهير إذا احتفظت بهذا الكتاب في ذاكرتك .... بابلو نيرودا يؤكد وجوده مخلدا كرحالة أكثر من كونه شاعرا ... كمناضل أكثر منه شخصية أدبية شهيرة تكتب جمالا غير واضح بسبب الترجمة من اللغة الأساسية ... لطالما كنت ولا زلت من مؤيدي الشعر بلغته الأساسية فقط حتى لو لم اتحدثها .مشكلة الكتاب تكمن فقط في كثرة الأخطاء المطبعية و الجمل الطويلة التي تمتد على مقاطع لا وبل صفحات دون ان تنتهي ... كم جميل أن ينتهي الإنسان متمما رغباته ومتعته مطمئنا أنه قد عاش كيفما أراد .

  • Nasser Moh'd
    2019-03-24 12:08

    مذكرات أعترف بأنني قد عشت لبابلوا نيرودا وحده العنوان يوحي بعظم شخصية الشاعر وصدق شعوره ، في المذكرات جد نيرودا الشاعر ونيرودا الثائر والإنسان والمخطئ والتائب والمستمتع ، أكثر ما كنت أبحث عنه في المذكرات تلك الشخصيه الشفافه لدى نيرودا وكيف حققت هذا الإنجاز والنجاح وكيف نزل نيرودا لميدان الحياة ليصارع ويبحث ويغامر ، في المذكرات فرصه لتطلع على حياة مبدع حقق الكثير فرضه لتطلع على إنسان.

  • Mohammad AbuZer
    2019-04-02 17:55

    أعترف أن نيرودا لده قدرة مدهشة على رصف كم وافر من الكلمات والجمل الإنشائية المنتفخة الخالية من أي خبر أو معلومة، أعترف أني لم أعرف عن حياته الشخصية من مذكراته شيئًا يذكر، أعترف أنّ هذا الكتاب واحد من أسوء السير الذاتية التي قرأتها، ولعله أكثرها سوءًا.

  • Lumberjuan
    2019-03-31 18:09

    Wow.Runs like a history of the 20th century. He was there. He did it all. He wrote it well.

  • Reem Meshkawi
    2019-04-03 13:47

    سيرة ذاتية ممتعة ، سلط فيها بابلو الضوء على أهم الأحداث في حياته فلم تحتوي أي شطط أو إطالة . سحرني حب بابلو لوطنه و وصفه الصادق و الواقعي . أحداث متسارعة و عميقة بعضها حمل مهمة التوثيق التاريخي .

  • Pasatoiu George
    2019-04-17 10:10

    Oscar Wilde once said :" To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist , that is all." There is definitely no precise pattern that can be applied to someone's life, to measure if it was truly lived or not, as everyone can find meaning in various things and can interpret events or people differently. Coming up to this book, I must say that the phrase that gives its title is very well chosen. Besides being a famous Chilean poet and somehow associated to the communist party, I knew next to nothing about Pablo Neruda. That is not even his real name, but one that he chose inspired by a Czech poet (Jan Neruda), because his father despised the idea of his son becoming a writer. Proving inspiration and talent from a young age, Ricardo Neftalí Reyes Basoalto soon made a name for himself and became recognized as one of South America greatest poets. But why is the title fit for describing the life of Neruda? I would say because he saw around half of the world in his travels, met interesting or powerful people, was loved by many and hated by some, as he created an opera that will last for hundreds of years, which brought him the Nobel Prize in 1971. He even had a pet mongoose while he was living in Ceylon. Yet , he describes his view of a perfect life as sitting somewhere, isolated, reading his favorite books.While retelling his life, Neruda talks about his travels and his interactions with the various political regimes and rulers he met. He lived during a period full of turmoil, sometimes being in the center of dangerous events. The Spanish civil war and the Franco regime with the execution of the great poet Garcia Lorca somehow made him change his life and his work, becoming an advocate of communism. Having a rather idealistic view on what communism should be and do, he eventually becomes a senator in Chile, but his activity later forced him to run into exile because of his conflicts with the local authorities. His poetry and actions were highly appreciated by powerful people such as Fidel Castro, Stalin, Luis Carlos Prestes, Salvador Allende, artists like Gabriel Garcia Marquez , Picasso or Garcia Lorca.Even if it meant facing the opposition of his father, or adapting to a new life and a very different culture as he became a consul in Rangoon or other parts of the world, or confronting the adversities of the political regimes of the 20th century, Neruda seems to have stayed true to his beliefs and spoke his mind when he had the chance. And that's not a bad thing to do when living your life...

  • Kadri
    2019-04-17 10:11

    "Ma tahan elada maailmas, kus inimesed on lihtsalt inimesed, kus neil poleks ühtegi teist tiitlit, kus ei oleks vaja pead murda mõne reegli, sõna või etiketi üle. Tahaksin, et inimesed võiksid minna igasse kirikusse, igasse trükikotta. /---/ Tahan, et suurem enamus, ainus enamus - kõik - võiksid rääkida, lugeda, kuulata, õitseda. Minu jaoks on võitlus ainult selleks, et võitlus kord lõpeks. Minu jaoks on karmus selleks, et teda enam ei oleks. /---/ Ühel päeval me kõik mõistame üksteist. Sammume koos edasi. See lootus on kõigutamatu. "..."Ent tõsi on ka see, et meile saab üha selgemaks silmanähtav tõde: maailma peeglist vaatab vastu vägivald ja tema nägu ei meeldi isegi talle endale. Mina usun endiselt armastuse võimalikkusesse. Ma olen veendunud, et inimesed jõuavad üksteise mõistmiseni - vaevade, vere ja killustunud klaaside hinnaga. "