Read The Spa Day by Nicola Yeager Online

the-spa-day

Every woman deserves a good pampering from time to time.At least, that is what Holly Nightingale thinks.A hard-working nurse, she decides to give herself a treat and books herself in for three days at Willows, a posh health farm in Surrey. She's looking forward to day after day of skin treatments, dips in the hot tub, and relaxing sessions with the handsome masseurs. But nEvery woman deserves a good pampering from time to time.At least, that is what Holly Nightingale thinks.A hard-working nurse, she decides to give herself a treat and books herself in for three days at Willows, a posh health farm in Surrey. She's looking forward to day after day of skin treatments, dips in the hot tub, and relaxing sessions with the handsome masseurs. But not everything is perfect.Her fiancé Clive is working in Hong Kong. But why does he spend so much time in the Far East? What is he up to?As Holly sits by the spa with the pampered, unfaithful wives of the Home Counties, she starts to wonder what kind of married life she is about to embark on. Will Clive ruin Holly's Spa Day?'The Spa Day' is a sparkling romantic comedy perfect for fans of Jane Green, Sophie Kinsella...and spa treatments. 'The spa day is an honest, open-minded, quirky, whirlwind read. I can guarantee it will have you giggling.' The Book Geek Wear PajamasIt was previously published as 'Christmas Without Holly'.Nicola Yeager was born in Lincoln to Dutch parents and is married with two children. She currently lives in London and Amsterdam. Christmas Without Holly is her first novella....

Title : The Spa Day
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 17831043
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 70 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Spa Day Reviews

  • Carina
    2019-03-02 23:50

    May 2017 Review:I cannot believe that I didn't archive/delete this book from my Kindle back in 2013. I mean... this is... not great in my opinion. I highly doubt this will ever see light of day on my Kindle again.The only reason I read it now, was that I was looking for a quick read for my train tomorrow and thought I'd read a few pages now. I managed to read 25% in less than five minutes so figured I might as well finish the torture and read the whole thing in one sitting. Which I did in about 40 minutes... On the Kindle this 'story' actually own fills 80% of the book, the remainder looks to be used to advertise another story from the publisher. So I guess this is definitely a short story.On the positive side... the writing isn't awful. It moves the plot (what little there is of it) on and does a decent job of describing things and showing them to you rather than just saying them. That aside...Describing the lead as a female dog (see my original review below) is rather charitable in hindsight I think... At one point she wishes someones else would have a stroke, but it's fine because it was that person's fault for making her think it?? I mean... what?? Someone else is nice to her when she's clearly a bit emotional and her thoughts are to call them a silly cow? (But when the handsome male masseur does the same thing that's okay?) And this person is supposed to be a nurse? I don't buy it. If this person is a nurse she's a Nurse Ratched type. Things seem to be the fault of everyone but hers (once again I don't recall, or care to look up the leads name) - her fiance texts in the middle of the night and it wakes her up? Ever heard of sleep hours love? Or turning the volume off? Or even, turning off the phone?!?! Yeah, totally his fault you woke up...Yeah, not a great book. I'd argue this barely scrapes a single star.December 2013 Review:This was short, like really short and because of that it lacked any sort of character development (I highly doubt that the lead is meant to come across as a female dog but to me she does) or any romantic development (yes the fiancee is out of the picture for the entire book but the male lead is barely in it and apart from him being 'hot' I see no connection between him and the female lead - none at all). I cannot even remember the names of the characters and I finished the book about 2 minutes ago - that is how little an impression it left on me.

  • Natalie TBGWP
    2019-03-07 05:01

    If you're looking for a fast-paced, gritty, sarcastic humoured book this is one for you.Once I'd started reading, I was drawn straight in by Holly's quirky personality and honesty. (I'm sure a lot of people are actually going to criticise how honest she is, but me, I found it refreshing.)Holly is your typical girl. Moody, anti-social, sarcastic, food obsessed, with a heart of gold, and a longing to be loved and happy.When she ends up being forced into a "friendship" with sex mad, glamour puss Rebecca. She can't help but feel the need to take a good look into her life and realise the mistakes she’s making.Rebecca made the book for me. Her mouth never stopped, she has no shame and from beginning to end doesn't fail to lower the tone having you smiling.For a short story it has enough in it to satisfy most needs and is written well enough to allow a good knowledge of the characters straight away. I liked that greatly about this.The spa day is an honest, open-minded, quirky, whirlwind read. I can guarantee it will have you giggling.

  • Lisa
    2019-02-21 00:51

    I'm not a big reader of short stories, but said I'd give this one a go as a quick holiday read. It was light, easy to get into, but I found Holly difficult to warm to. And the ending was extremely abrupt.

  • Jeanette Cupcake
    2019-02-25 02:48

    I loved Holly and wanted this to continue! Loved her quirkiness and sense of humor. Such a fun fast easy read!

  • Liz Fisher
    2019-02-16 02:48

    Short and sweet.

  • Lexy
    2019-03-05 06:32

    Free at the moment on kindle!!

  • Louise
    2019-03-11 07:37

    It was an ok storyline but it didn't over joy me.

  • Lyndsey Gilchrist
    2019-02-20 03:02

    Don't usually read short stories. This was ok but ended abruptly. Could have done with an extra chapter

  • Jo Golding
    2019-03-13 04:52

    Seemed to end abruptly, like the author couldn't be bothered anymore - which was fine with me, because neither could I

  • Kimberley
    2019-02-23 00:32

    Very abrupt ending but a good book nonetheless