Read Gullible's Travels, Etc.by Ring W. Lardner, Fiction by Ring Lardner Online

gullible-s-travels-etc-by-ring-w-lardner-fiction

I promised the Wife that if anybody ast me what kind of a time did I have at Palm Beach I'd say I had a swell time. And if they ast me who did we meet I'd tell 'em everybody that was worth meetin'. And if they ast me didn't the trip cost a lot I'd say Yes; but it was worth the money. I promised her I wouldn't spill none o' the real details. But if you can't break a promiseI promised the Wife that if anybody ast me what kind of a time did I have at Palm Beach I'd say I had a swell time. And if they ast me who did we meet I'd tell 'em everybody that was worth meetin'. And if they ast me didn't the trip cost a lot I'd say Yes; but it was worth the money. I promised her I wouldn't spill none o' the real details. But if you can't break a promise you made to your own wife what kind of a promise can you break? Answer me that, Edgar.I'm not one o' these kind o' people that'd keep a joke to themself just because the joke was on them. But they's plenty of our friends that I wouldn't have 'em hear about it for the world. I wouldn't tell you, only I know you're not the village gossip and won't crack it to anybody. Not even to your own Missus, see? I don't trust no women.It was along last January when I and the Wife was both hit by the society bacillus. I think it was at the opera. You remember me tellin' you about us and the Hatches goin' to Carmen and then me takin' my Missus and her sister, Bess and four of one suit named Bishop to see The Three Kings? Well, I'll own up that I enjoyed wearin' the soup and fish and minglin' amongst the high polloi and pretendin' we really was somebody. And I know my wife enjoyed it, too, though they was nothin' said between us at the time."Gullible's Travels," the story from which this book takes its name, has to do with a trip to Palm Beach and was written in 1916. Readers who have never been to Palm Beach and who contemplate going there are warned not to base their budget on figures quoted in the story. In those days you could get a double room with bath at one of the two big hotels for a niggling $17.00 per day. That sum now is just a fair diurnal tip for the house detective. Everything has doubled or trebled in price in the past ten years, and still the influx of eager customers increases. Newspapers continue, from habit, to speak of the place as exclusive, but a person with money who can't crash in there these days would be blackballed from the Rotary club. And for all that, Palm Beach is worth a visit if you are not deaf or blind. The writer was there this winter for only a day, but was repaid for his trouble by the sight of a lady (a prominent society lady, too) in a bathing costume consisting of a big, floppy black silk hat, horn-rimmed spectacles, a black velvet doublet, with choking high collar and long sleeves, black silk tights and black shoes, a black silk umbrella, and WHITE GLOVES. This will remain for me the ne pluribus unum in swimming comfort until some more ingenious mermaid, sacrificing looks for buoyancy, shows up for her morning plunge in the working clothes of an Eskimo traffic policeman....

Title : Gullible's Travels, Etc.by Ring W. Lardner, Fiction
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780809595969
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 160 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Gullible's Travels, Etc.by Ring W. Lardner, Fiction Reviews

  • Robert Cohen
    2018-11-03 18:12

    If you’da ast me who this Ring Lardner feller was, I’da said it was some variable of horseshoes. I’da been mistook. He was a writer for the funny papers, and on the side he done some serious funny writing. He wrote short stories, which is like novels only smaller. So bein’ that I love learnin’, I took it upon myself to sample the wares.Well, I got to be truthy on this. I didn’t like it. Not one bit. If I'da met him I'da give him what for. Ya see, his made-up folks talk just like me. I think he was funnin’ with me and the missus, but I can’t figger how in heck he were able to spy on us.Well, long story shorter, I give the flivver a chance, and after a few tiny novels, I sorta took a hankerin’ to him. I mean, it’s kinda flatironin’ to see me and the missus in print, for all the world to see, especial the Hatches. A course, the missus was just jubeelant. I didn’t mention to her that probly only a couple people atchully read Ring, ‘cause like I said, I never heard a him.So's I need a favor, not on my beehalf, but for the missus. Read a couple a these mini-novels just so’s if we have you over for a game o’ Whist, you can pretend you read about her in the Ring stories, and if I know the missus, she’d be so full of herself that, next eve, me and Hatch could sneak off to Andy’s for some likwid refreshers and she wouldn’t even know we wasn’t there ‘cause she’d be on the phone braggin’ to Mrs. Hatch.

  • Chuck LoPresti
    2018-11-01 00:34

    My guess is that by the time you've stumbled across this - you're pretty familiar with Ring Lardner Sr. I absolutely love his sense of humor and the local referrences to my home, Chicago are pleasing. Knowing also that Groucho Marx loved his writing cements the deal for me. Lardner's humor is stark and smart, but hardly subtle. Lines like "..the day he got mad at his kid and christened him, Kenneth." suit me just fine. The stories here march in lock-step with Lardner's popular style of social criticism. Snollygostering and social climbing, the same targets at the Marx Brothers in general, are the consistent themes troughout Gullible's Travels and the incisive wit that is Larder's trademark is present throughout. Easy reading and great fun - what's not to love about Ring Lardner Sr.? His vernacular style is probably what is most remembered for amongst the literary minded - but Lardner's work will probably appeal mostly to those that hold irreverent and intelligent humor most dear.

  • Phrodrick
    2018-10-17 22:08

    Bottom Line First:Ring Lardner's Gullibles Travels is a collection of 1920's era humor. He may have had a good ear for mid-western accents but his over use of that language and his over use of what may have been common expression can make for difficult reading. His narrator has a jaundiced outlook, penny pinching attitude and a wise acre manner of expression. It can get to be too much for too little. The plot twists do not provide much comedic tension. This is a short collection and is the better for this fact.Ring Lardner was an author of light humor from the average guy point of view. He writes in the tradition of Mark Twain and Damon Runyon. Gullible, that is the narrator of these few short stories is the husband of a would be social climbing woman and her husband seeking sister. While he seems to have the time and money to indulge his wife and sister-in law, he regards every demand on his pocket as extravagant (unless it is for his drinks) and trusts no one, except his bartender. This is not the world of flappers and pre-crash brokers, these are working people in the bare middle class of Middle America,Lardner is capable of some very funny comments. He describes a skinny man as so thin that "were his collar to fall over his shoulders he could step out of it." On the other hand he describes his sister in law in a bathing suit as looking like "an upside down Y'- not as clear as the statement that a person is "all Longitude and no latitude."Damon Runyon who also wrote at about the same time invented the street language of his Broadway "Guys and Dolls". Yet I find his speakers easier to understand and more creative in their use of slang expressions. Lardner may have done a better job of recording the spoken language of his time and place, but sometimes it limits his humor to his time and place.Gullible's Travels, Etc. is my second selection by Ring Lardner. This book added little to what I can expect from his line of jokes and variations in plot. I suspect there are better examples of his work but it may be awhile before I return to find out.

  • Olea
    2018-11-05 20:07

    Sint unele povestiri - parca numai una, totusi - al caror sens/poanta imi scapa (“Lady Perkins”). Dar povestiri ca “Faptele”, “In tren”, “Calatoriile lui Gullible”..., fiecare are cite ceva surprinzator si atractiv (“catchy”, in atit de sintetica limba a autorului) – vreo intorsatura, stilul narativ (repetarile obsesive si identice in scop persuasiv sau dintr-un automatism aproape inconstient, relatarea la persoana intii – monolog, scrisoare s.a.), deznodamintul, altceva - care “fac” tot timpul petrecut cu cartea asta (adica “face toti banii”, ca sa fim in spiritul autorului). ”In sedinta” vine in plus cu o nota de absurd de cea mai buna calitate – m-as duce s-o vad la teatru, daca ar pune-o cineva in scena, la noi.As compara experienta lecturii acestei carti cu rontaitul, in fiecare zi, a doua-trei tablete de ciocolata amaruie, fina, alegeti-va marca...

  • John
    2018-11-07 18:12

    This is one of the few Ring Lardner books that I hadn't read. It's typical Ring: it's the story of the unnamed narrator and his wife, who aim to achieve a higher social status by frequenting the right people in the right situations. It's similar to Lardner's novel "The Big Town". And like in "The Big Town", the Missus embarks on the endeavor in earnest, while the skeptical husband cracks wise. There are plenty of good laughs, although it's pretty standard Lardner. I would have given the full five stars, except for a lot of bridge-related jokes in one of the chapters, none of which I understood.

  • David Allen
    2018-11-01 01:05

    Lardner is neglected, but he's worth seeking out. These five connected stories, about a lower-class Chicago couple circa 1916 with pretensions of upward mobility, are narrated by the husband in vernacular, a Lardner specialty. They're a delight to read, as the husband skewers much of what he encounters, and as we see what he doesn't, which is that people are laughing at him and his wife. Often laugh-out-loud funny.

  • Pamela
    2018-10-20 01:28

    It's Ring Larnder. Enough said.

  • Novalee
    2018-11-04 18:25

    Divertente e scorrevole, ottimo per trascorrere del tempo con leggerezza

  • Jonathan
    2018-11-02 22:16

    Obviously dated - but an enjoyable read. I especially liked his opera interpretations.

  • Emilia Pacurar
    2018-11-15 00:16

    A scrie in mod constant da senzatia de valoros, dar de fapt doar unele bucati sunt valoroase.