Read Second Opinion by Hannah Alexander Online

second-opinion

Lauren moved to Dogwood Springs to make a new start away from family pressure to find a husband. Now she finds herself drawn to a man who does not return her interest. Archer was happy to be back at his childhood home, but rumors threaten his future there. Grant hoped Dogwood Springs would be a nurturing community for his twins, but he is discovering that drugs abd violencLauren moved to Dogwood Springs to make a new start away from family pressure to find a husband. Now she finds herself drawn to a man who does not return her interest. Archer was happy to be back at his childhood home, but rumors threaten his future there. Grant hoped Dogwood Springs would be a nurturing community for his twins, but he is discovering that drugs abd violence seem to be everywhere. Gina moved to escape her constantly fighting family, yet now her own children are at risk abd she has nowhere to turn. Can these four provide help to needy ER patients while desperately searching for peace in their own lives?...

Title : Second Opinion
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780764225284
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 345 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Second Opinion Reviews

  • Jerry
    2019-04-26 11:32

    A Quickie ReviewAn entertaining medical drama that dishes up both thrills and romance. Fans of Christian fiction will definitely love this.Score: 4/5

  • Doranne Long
    2019-05-13 08:20

    I love this Healing Touch Series; as well as the previous series by Hannah Alexanger: Sacred Trust, Solemn Oath, and Silent Pledge. The characters and life themes feel real, as do the emergency room experiences.

  • Sarah Jungels
    2019-05-21 12:28

    Loved it... On to the second book.Great story so far! Recommended for anyone with faith! Love the stories twists and characters... Love is brewing. Nice plot!

  • Mandy Huot
    2019-04-24 08:32

    love this series. beautifully written!!!!!

  • Kris
    2019-05-12 12:28

    Good story line, loved the characters. Looking forward to reading book #2 in the series.

  • Charly
    2019-05-03 06:13

    Easy read. The tension built up nicely over the course of the story. However I found the writing and choice of words to be too simple with sometimes repeated sentences.

  • Kim
    2019-05-22 07:13

    This was a good book and I enjoyed reading it very much.

  • Trinity Rose
    2019-04-26 06:16

    Alexander is a fantastic book that I love. I’ve read many books by Hannah Alexander and love them all. Dr. Grant Sheldon and Nurse Lauren McCaffrey are two very impressive characters. You just feel like they are real people and that they can be trusted. Grant lost his wife two years ago and he hasn’t talked to God since then. He has teenaged twins who are so very opposite of each other, but love each other dearly. Lauren has a fantastic parents and siblings, who are all married. Lauren feels like she is in a trap, everyone fixing her up with eligible men. So she decides to move to a different town to get on with her own life and leave the matchmaking behind. Put all of that together with a mysterious epidemic going around. people dying, drug lords and you have a novel worth reading. Highly recommended. Love this book.I own this book and was not required to write a review.

  • Wendy Sparkes
    2019-05-21 09:36

    Nurse Lauren McCaffrey moved to Dogwood Springs to get away from the pressures of her loving family who feel that at 35, she really should be married and settled with a family. She's had enough of them setting her up on blind dates...and it doesn't help that she really does want to be married and have a family, but the guys she likes always seem to love someone else. Maybe she is destined to be single. Maybe she just needs to focus on God and sharing His love to those around her. Widower Dr. Grant Sheldon has moved to Dogwood Springs in the hopes that the small town will be a place for him and his children to heal, and so that he won't be exposed to the high rush of ER medicine of the big city. Only, it's not working out quite like that. It seems there is a drug ring targeting the teenagers of the town, who are staying one step ahead of the authorities. Also, there seems to be a mysterious "flu" type virus travelling the town with a lethal tendency. It becomes a race against time to figure out what's going on and to stop the epidemic. Especially when it seems like one of his nurses might be succumbing to the illness...a nurse with a big heart for her patients, and who has opened his heart to love again.If you enjoy ER dramas and small town settings, then I highly recommend Second Opinion. I was drawn into this story from the start and enjoyed the twists and turns in the lives of the ER staff, and also the wider community. There are a few ends that still need tying up, so I'm looking forward to getting Necessary Measures - #2 in the Healing Touch Series & seeing what happens next! A great start to the Healing Touch Series - a winning dramatic and faith filled ER story from Hannah Alexander.#2 #3

  • Michelle
    2019-05-09 12:31

    This is the first book in the "Healing Touch" series. I was excited to see that one of the main characters was from the first series, "Sacred Trust." Nurse Lauren has moved from the Knolls hospital after her crush on the doctor (main character in that series) marries another. Now Lauren is embracing her single-hood, serving in her church, fishing, and working in the hospital.Doctor, Grant Sheldon, has newly accepted a job at the hospital as ER Director and is looking forward to a more peaceful life. But what he assumed would be a slower ER was packed full of sick people. There is some sickness hitting the citizens and it's up to him to figure out what. Meanwhile, Grant is the father of motherless twins. His wife was killed in a car accident two years ago and they are trying to adjust to their new life.There is another strong character in this book - the preacher at the baptist church - who is still in love with his ex-fiancee. He takes on a job as chaplain at the hospital. He has issues of his own to deal with.The authors tack in a few mystery cases that have to be figured out to make a wonderful story - one that's very hard to walk away from until you get to the end. I have been very impressed with several of the books, and this did not disappoint!

  • Debbie
    2019-05-12 06:24

    "Second Opinion" is a Christian medical suspense novel with some romance. It's the first in a series, but one character is carried over from the authors' "ER Trilogy" (which starts with "Sacred Trust"). You don't need to read that series to understand this one.The suspense mainly comes from an unknown illness that is striking only this community--what is causing it? The characters also dealt with issues like the pressures put on the pastor, untrue gossip that is destroying the reputation of two upright people, and drug trafficking in a small town. The characters were likable, complex, and reacted realistically to events. I was left wanting to know more of their story even though the book could be read as a stand-alone.Several of the characters were Christians. They came across as realistic people whose faith affected their lives, but they're also struggling with trusting God with their futures...especially when His people don't always behave in a loving way. There was no sex. There was a very minor amount of "he swore" style of bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this enjoyable and well-written novel.

  • Dixie Petersen
    2019-05-15 09:21

    Excellent and well crafted story! I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It had me quite intrigued when I read the blurb about the book on Amazon. I read several other books before getting back to reading this one. I was slow to get started (the book wasn't slow at all), and then I could not but it down!Wonderful charismatic collection of characters; early story of love and loss; deepening mystery -- all mostly surrounding an ERand it's caregivers and patients; yes, it definitely includes moderately heavy discussions of God and Christianity -- there is nothing wrong with that and a large amount of right, including lack of foul language and clean dialogue and action. The mystery is suspenseful, intriguing and all together really wonderful, including the Christian portions. Excellent!

  • Jeni Enjaian
    2019-05-13 06:16

    A review from my old blog...Once again the writing duo of Hannah Alexander doesn't fail to disappoint. I love everything medical... one of the reasons I almost went into the medical profession... and the way that Alexander weaves together multiple stories works. I don't always like multiple story lines or too many characters and sometimes Alexander gets dragged down with too many.While I probably won't ever purchase any of these books they are an enjoyable read and I don't mind spending time reading them.

  • Linda Rainey
    2019-05-03 09:29

    It is a Christian medical mystery set in Dogwood Springs,Mo" sweet sense of community ran deep in town, curiosity mingled with compassion.Main characters Grant Sheldon, the new ER Director is a believer who has lost his way and Lauren, a seasoned ER nurse a firm believer.Archer, is the young single Baptist pastor who starts volunteering as the Hospital Chaplain.It's exciting how they use God's love and forgiveness to bring healing to a small town.This was an easy read and made me feel right at home in the ER. Reminds me of all my days in ER.I loved this book

  • Angela Bycroft
    2019-05-09 11:34

    With the fast-paced energy of ER, Hannah Alexander’s Healing Touch starts wit a bang and is just what this medical fiction junkie needed. I loved the characters and the hospital setting but there was plenty of action outside of those four walls as well. With a mixture of suspense and drama, with great care and compassion. It’s a series that begs to be carried on with and I intend to do just that.

  • Bonnie
    2019-05-12 11:16

    The Hannah Alexander team creates amazing characters that one can totally relate to. And this book tops my list with breathtaking ER action and true to life dramas. I loved all the twists and turns involving each doctor, patient, neighbor and the christian love and beliefs they shared. Lauren Mc Caffrey and Dr. Grant solve many things together as they are drawn into everyone's dilemmas including their own. This was one of my favorites, can't wait to read the others in the series!!

  • Kathy
    2019-05-21 07:22

    Hannah Alexander, a husband-wife team, never disappoints. Their books have exciting happenings in the ER of a hospital, a mystery that often involves the town, people struggling with questions for God, people drawing closer to God, and romance somewhere in there. Since the husband of the team works in the ER, it seems very accurate and one can even learn about illnesses and the symptoms. Highly recommended.

  • Bob Allen
    2019-05-18 04:09

    Christian medical romance. A doctor whose wife was killed in a car wreck who is trying to rear two teenagers. A nurse who is single but desparately wants to be married and who has fallen for her pastor, who is also single but a bit clueless. A respiratory therapist who is single, raising 2 young boys and having strange episodes of wandering. Decent book where all turns out well. Realistic enough so that not everybody is saved (physically).

  • Frances Botelho
    2019-04-29 12:09

    thank you for this wonderful story...I've been searching for a romance that blends christian beliefs...this series is what I need to restore my faith...believable characters, with just the right amount of "flaws"...can't wait to start book 2

  • Deb Brammer
    2019-04-25 06:28

    Art and I enjoyed reading this series by husband/wife team Hannah Alexander. You may not agree with the position on divorce and remarriage, but this is a good series that deals with real challenges and Christian issues faced by people in medical careers.

  • Tricia
    2019-04-22 10:23

    This book was neither great or awful. You could tell a doctor wrote it with the depth of the medical talk and it was sort of long winded in sections, for my like. So while I won't run out and get the second book in the series, maybe sometime I will.

  • Erin
    2019-05-21 05:09

    I enjoyed this trilogy set in a small Ozark town, especially as I had just moved to the same area when I read it. I enjoy Hannah Alexander's writing style and the medical scenes in these books are realistic but not overwhelming for those of us not proficient with the ER.

  • Lillie
    2019-05-06 10:25

    I really enjoyed this story that melded romance, faith, and mystery.

  • Kathleen
    2019-05-01 09:16

    a quick read for those like me that love a good clean Christian Medical/romance with some suspense involved. In this case, solving a series of unknown illnesses before it becomes widespread pandemic

  • Marilyn
    2019-05-13 06:36

    I really liked this book. Cant wait to read Necessary measures. Unfortunately my library doesn't have a copy right now.

  • Ila
    2019-04-24 06:25

    Enjoyed this book! Clean romance/mystery. Kept me guessing.

  • Truke de Kruijter- Prins
    2019-05-18 11:18

    Interessante schrijfster, ga ik zeker meer van lezen!

  • Electra Masterson
    2019-04-26 10:34

    Good characters. Well written. A bit too religious for me though

  • Nanette
    2019-05-02 12:10

    This book started out great and ended great, but was rather blah in the middle.

  • J.B. Hawker
    2019-04-29 05:26

    Enjoyable story with likable charactersI enjoyed the authenticity of the medical elements and the sound theology throughout this book. I will read more by this author.